Standing Committees

Note: For schedules and advanced materials, committee members may visit the secure SEAS SharePoint Administration Site.

Computational Science and Engineering Program Committee

The Program Committee for Computational Science and Engineering plans and supervises academic degree programs offered under the umbrella of IACS. The committee is responsible for admission and advising and serves as the Committee on Higher Degrees for the Master of Science, Master of Engineering and Secondary Field in CSE.
Hanspeter Pfister (Chair)
Katia Bertoldi
Joseph Blitzstein
Michael Brenner (AY sabbatical)
Efthimios Kaxiras (AY sabbatical)
Gary King
Zhiming Kuang
David Parkes
Christopher Rycroft
Margo Seltzer
Neil Shephard
James Waldo

Computing Advisory Committee

Oversees SEAS computing strategic priorities, policies, and resource allocation.
James Waldo (Chair)
Tim Bowman
James Cuff
Fawwaz Habbal
Daniel Jacob
Efthimios Kaxiras (AY sabbatical)
Margo Seltzer
Bob Sproull

Engineering S.B. External Advisory Committee

Provides external perspective and advises the Dean on ABET-related issues, planning, and visitation follow-up.
Lynn Stein (Chair)
Drew Carlson
Daniel Curran
Anna Dunavin (recording)
Moira Forberg
Evelyn Hu (E-O)
David Hwang (E-O)
Frank Keutsch (E-O)
Zhiming Kuang (E-O)
Daniel Needleman (E-O)
Christ Richmond
Warren Seering
Joost Vlassak (E-O)
Griffin Weber

Executive Team

Oversees planning for all strategic aspects of the organization, including: finance and budget, administration and staffing, physical resources and space, IT, resource development, communications, and the fundraising campaign, including financial relationships with FAS, other Schools and the Center, and enhanced space, financial, and campus planning for Allston and the Campaign.
Frank Doyle (Chair)
Tim Bowman
Fawwaz Habbal
Crate Herbert
David Hwang
Paul Karoff
Pam Redfern
Diane Schneeberger

Graduate Education Policy Committee (GEPC)

Reviews plans for graduate educational program development and policy issues related to graduate mentoring, progress towards degree, course requirements, TF personnel issues, thesis and quals, etc. for PhD and master’s programs. Responsible for graduate student policies as noted in the CHD policy document.
David Brooks (Chair)
Ariel Amir (fall)
Federico Capasso (spring)
Brian Farrell
John Girash (E-O)
Fawwaz Habbal
David Hwang (E-O)
Cate Lagueux (E-O, recording)
Yue Lu (spring)
Scot Martin
Jim Rice
Daniel Weinstock (E-O)

Committee on Higher Degrees (CHD) (Applied Math/Computer Science)

Reviews and approves program plans of PhD and master's students. Approves PhD student requests for delaying the qualifying exam. Assigns the Dean's nominee to PhD qualifying exam committee.
Ariel Amir (Co-Chair, fall)
David Brooks (Co-Chair)
Yue Lu (Co-Chair, spring)
John Girash (E-O)
David Hwang (E-O)
Stratos Idreos
Scott Kuindersma (fall)
HT Kung (fall)
Cate Lagueux (E-O)
Margo Levine
James Mickens
Stuart Shieber
Madhu Sudan

Committee on Higher Degrees (CHD) (Applied Physics)

Reviews and approves program plans of PhD and master's students. Approves PhD student requests for delaying the qualifying exam. Assigns the Dean's nominee to PhD qualifying exam committee.
Daniel Needleman (Chair, fall) (Member, spring)
Federico Capasso (fall sabbatical) (Chair, spring)
John Girash (E-O)
Jene Golovchenko (spring)
David Hwang (E-O)
Philip Kim (fall)
Cate Lagueux (E-O)
Shmuel Rubinstein (fall)
Frans Spaepen

Committeee on Higher Degrees (CHD) (Engineering Sciences)

Reviews and approves program plans of PhD and master's students. Approves PhD student requests for delaying the qualifying exam. Assigns the Dean's nominee to PhD qualifying exam committee.
Fawwaz Habbal (Chair)
John Girash (E-O)
David Hwang (E-O)
Cate Lagueux (E-O)


    Higher Degrees (BIO)

    Neel Joshi
    Jennifer Lewis

    Higher Degrees (EE)

    Demba Ba (spring)
    Na Li (fall)
    Marko Loncar (fall)

    Higher Degrees (ESE)

    Scot Martin (fall)
    Elsie Sunderland
    Chad Vecitis

    Higher Degrees (MSME)

    Jennifer Lewis
    Frans Spaepen

MDE Executive Committee

Reports to the Dean of SEAS and the Dean of GSD. Oversees all academic and curricular issues related to the MDE program.
Martin Bechthold (Faculty Co-Director)
Woodward Yang (Faculty Co-Director)
Fawwaz Habbal
K. Michael Hays

Steering Committee (Fall 2016)

Advises the Dean on strategic academic and administrative planning; reviews search and promotion reports prior to full faculty deliberations; monitors tenure-track faculty progress, mentoring committees, and advises the Dean on special cases; prepares one and three year teaching plans; reviews space and financial strategic plans.
Frank Doyle (Chair)
Tim Bowman
David Clarke (Materials Science and Mechanical Engineering Area Dean)
Fawwaz Habbal
Robert Howe (Bioengineering Area Dean)
Paul Karoff (E-O)

L. Mahadevan (Applied Math Area Dean)
Eric Mazur (Applied Physics Area Dean)
David Parkes (Computer Science Area Dean)
Diane Schneeberger (E-O)
Daniel Schrag (Environmental Science and Engineering Area Dean)
Gu-Yeon Wei (Electrical Engineering Area Dean)

Undergrad Studies Committee (Applied Math)

Guides Applied Math-related planning and decision making; designs, guides and implements core academic guidelines and policies; and approves degree confirmation.
Christopher Rycroft (Chair, fall) (Member, spring)
Eli Tziperman (Chair, spring)
Ariel Amir
Joseph Blitzstein
Sean Eddy
David Hwang (E-O)
Sarah Iams
Margo Levine
L. Mahadevan Yaron Singer
Madhu Sudan
Zhigang Suo (spring)
Cliff Taubes
Salil Vadhan
Additional Members TBD

Undergraduate Engineering Committee (UEC)

Oversees all engineering concentration policies (and serves as the College's ES concentration committee), including their management, relevant course content including engineering content for ABET, learning outcomes, and preparation for ABET reviews (including meeting with the advisory committee). Proposes new policies or changes such as course numbering, requirements and desired learning outcomes for prerequisite courses for engineering concentrations and grade requirements.
Zhiming Kuang (Chair)
Anas Chalah (E-O)
Anna Dunavin (recording)
Fawwaz Habbal
Robert Howe
Evelyn Hu
David Hwang (E-O)
Frank Keutsch
Christopher Lombardo (E-O)
Linsey Moyer (E-O)
Patrick Ulrich (E-O)
Joost Vlassak

Allston Space Program Faculty Leads

Robert Howe
David Parkes
Robert Wood

Cambridge Space Program Faculty Leads

Evelyn Hu

Eli Tziperman
Robert Westervelt

Director of Graduate Studies

Serves as primary contact for applicable graduate program regarding curricular issues, policy exceptions and petitions, and advisor issues. Ordinarily chairs the applicable CHD.
Ariel Amir (Applied Math) (fall)
Yue Lu (Applied Math) (spring)
Daniel Needleman (Applied Physics) (fall)
Federico Capasso (Applied Physics) (spring)
Hanspeter Pfister (Computational Science and Engineering)
David Brooks (Computer Science)
Fawwaz Habbal (Engineering Sciences)

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Serves as primary contact for applicable undergraduate concentration regarding advising and curricular issues.
Christopher Rycroft (Applied Math) (fall)
Eli Tziperman (Applied Math) (spring)
Daniel Needleman (Bioengineering)
Harry Lewis (Computer Science)
Evelyn Hu (Electrical Engineering)
Zhiming Kuang (Engineering Sciences)
Frank Keutsch (Environmental Science and Engineering)
Joost Vlassak (Mechanical Engineering)