ESE Faculty

James G. Anderson
Philip S. Weld Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry

Research Interests: Catalytic processes in the atmosphere controlling global change of ozone; development of laser systems from stratospheric and troposheric studies; development of high-altitude, long-duration unmanned aircraft for studies of global climate change

617-495-5922
anderson@huarp.harvard.edu

 


Brian F. Farrell
Robert P. Burden Professor of Meteorology

Research Interests: Dynamic meteorology; large scale atmospheric and climate dynamics; stability and predictability of dynamical systems

617-495-2998
farrell@seas.harvard.edu

 


Peter Huybers
Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences

Research Interests: Glacial cycles; past atmospheric conditions; past ocean circulation; climate change

617-495-4811
phuybers@fas.harvard.edu

 


Daniel Jacob
Vasco McCoy Family Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry and Environmental Engineering

Research Interests: Air pollution, atmospheric transport, regional and global atmospheric chemistry, biosphere-atmosphere interactions, climate change

617-495-1794
djacob@fas.harvard.edu

 


David Keith
Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics and Professor of Public Policy (HKS)

Research Interests: The interface between climate science, energy technology and public policy

617-496-2312
david_keith@harvard.edu

 


 

Frank Keutsch
Stonington Professor of Engineering and Atmospheric Science and Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology

Research Interests: Improving understanding the photochemical oxidation processes of volatile organic compounds (VOCs)

617-495-1878
keutsch@seas.harvard.edu

 


Zhiming Kuang
Gordon McKay Professor of Atmospheric and Environmental Science

Research Interests: Tropical convection and large scale atmosphere-ocean dynamics

617-495-2354
kuang@fas.harvard.edu

 


Scot Martin
Gordon McKay Professor of Environmental Chemistry

Research Interests: Atmospheric particles, cloud formation, and climate change; energy, pollution, and climate; mineral origins of life; energy technology; biosphere-atmosphere feedback

617-495-7620
smartin@seas.harvard.edu

 


Michael McElroy
Gilbert Butler Professor of Environmental Studies

Research Interests: Chemistry of the atmosphere and oceans, including interactions with the biosphere, evolution of planetary atmospheres.

617-495-4359
mbm@seas.harvard.edu

 


James Rice
Mallinckrodt Professor of Engineering Sciences and Geophysics

Research Interests: Theoretical mechanics in glaciology, hydrology, seismology and tectonophysics; physics of earthquakes, ice sheet flow, fluid interactions with deformation and failure of earth materials

617-495-3445
rice@esag.harvard.edu

 


Daniel Schrag
Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology and Professor of Environmental Science and Engineering; Director of Harvard University Center for the Environment; Co-Area Dean for Environmental Science and Engineering; Director of the Science, Technology and Public Policy Program at the Harvard Kennedy School

Research Interests: Geochemical oceanography; stable isotope geochemistry; paleoclimatology; climate change; carbon sequestration; energy technology

617-495-7676
daniel_schrag@harvard.edu

 


John Shaw
Harry C. Dudley Professor of Structural and Economic Geology and Harvard College Professor; Earth and Planetary Sciences Department Chair

Research Interests: Structure of the earth's crust, active faulting and folding, earthquake hazards assessment, petroleum exploration methods, and remote sensing

617-495-8008
shaw@eps.harvard.edu

 


Elsie Sunderland
Associate Professor of Environmental Science and Engineering, HSPH

Research Interests: Characterizing the relationship between anthropogenic releases of contaminants, changes in ambient environmental concentrations at a variety of scales, and human exposure

617-496-0858
esunder@hsph.harvard.edu

 


Eli Tziperman
Pamela and Vasco McCoy, Jr. Professor of Oceanography and Applied Physics; co-Director of Graduate Studies

Research Interests: Large-scale climate and ocean dynamics, including El Nino, thermohaline circulation, abrupt climate change, glacial cycles and equable climates; advanced methods of ocean data assimilation. 

617-384-8381
eli@eps.harvard.edu

 


Chad Vecitis
Assistant Professor of Environmental Engineering

Research Interests: Environmental applications and implications of emerging technologies; environmental nanotechnology; water technology

617-496-1458
vecitis@seas.harvard.edu

 


Steve Wofsy
Abbott Lawrence Rotch Professor of Atmospheric and Environmental Science; Co-Area Dean for Environmental Science and Engineering

Research Interests: Chemistry of the atmosphere on global and regional scales, including stratospheric and tropospheric chemistry

617-495-4566
swofsy@seas.harvard.edu

 


Robin Wordsworth
Assistant Professor, SEAS

Research Interests: The processes that shape planetary climate and habitability, both in the Solar System and around other stars

617-496-1270
rwordsworth@seas.harvard.edu