Appointments and Awards


Received the Carlsberg Foundation's Research Award for the Natural Sciences by the Royal Danish Society of Sciences and Letters, October 5, 2011

Named '2011 Distinguished Alum' by Aarhus University, Denmark, September 9, 2011

Named ‘World Dane 2010’ ('Verdensdansker 2010') by global network Danes Worldwide in Elsinore, Denmark, 1 August 2010

Selected National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow by the Dept. of Defense, January 25, 2010

Elected as American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow, December 7, 2009

Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, April 20, 2009

Awarded the George Ledlie Prize, Harvard University, September, 2008

Elected to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on January 16 2008

Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts. Mallinckrodt Professor
of Physics and of Applied Physics, 2006 to present.

Lene Hau was selected by the MacArthur Foundation as one of only 9 MacArthur Fellows to be featured in connection with the 25th anniversary of the MacArthur Fellows program. The 9 fellows were selected among all MacArthur fellows named over the history of the fellows program. See "MacArthur Fellows: the first 25 years, 1981-2005" ( Published by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, 2005).

2004 Richtmyer Memorial Lecture Award, awarded by the American Association of Physics Teachers. Award citation in the Physics Teacher, Vol. 42, Number 5, page 265, May 2004.

Appointed to the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences, April 2002.

MacArthur Fellow, appointed by the MacArthur Foundation, October 2001.

The NKT award, awarded by the Danish Physical Society, June 1, 2001.

The Ole Rømer Medal, awarded by the president of the University of Copenhagen, May 23, 2001.

Honorary Degree, Æreshåndværker Kjøbenhavns Håndværkerforening, awarded in the
presence of Her Majesty, Queen Margrethe II of Denmark,Copenhagen, May 22, 2001.

Recipient of the Samuel Friedman Rescue Award, awarded by the Friedman Foundation,
University of California, Los Angeles, May 2, 2001.

Recipient of the Year 2000 Award from
the TopDanmark Foundation, Copenhagen Denmark, June 19, 2000.

Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts. Gordon McKay Professor
of Applied Physics and Professor of Physics, 1999 to 2006.

Rowland Institute for Science, Cambridge, Massachusetts. Member of Scientific Staff, 1991 to 1999

Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts. Postdoctoral Fellow in Physics, 1989 to 1991.

Rowland Institute for Science, Cambridge, Massachusetts. Research Associate, 1989 to 1991.

Recipient of the J.C. Jacobsen 200 Year Anniversary Award, Carlsberg Foundation, Denmark, 1989.

Research Fellowship, awarded by the Faculty of Sciences, University of Aarhus, Denmark, 1986 to 1989.

Carlsberg Foundation Scholar, 1985 to 1986.

Cern, Geneva, Switzerland. Research Associate, April to August 1985.

Cern, Geneva, Switzerland. Summer Associate, June to September 1984.