Jennifer Lewis, the Hansjorg Wyss Professor of Biologically Inspired Engineering, at the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) and a Core Faculty Member of the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering has been inducted into The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows.

College membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering and medicine research, practice, or education” and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of medical and biological engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to bioengineering education."

Lewis is being honored for her pioneering contributions to the fields of materials science and 3D printing, and their application to device fabrication and biomanufacturing. She is among 156 colleagues inducted into the AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 2018.

Lewis’ research focuses on the design and assembly of functional, structural and biological materials. Her pioneering work in the field of microscale 3D printing is advancing the development of electronics, soft robotics, lightweight structures, and vascularized human tissues.

Lewis’ multi-material, bioprinting platform enables the fabrication of 3D tissues composed of multiple cell types, engineered extracellular matrices, and vasculature. These vascularized tissues are under development for fundamental studies related to drug screening, disease modeling, and tissue repair and regeneration.

Lewis earned a Sc.D. in Ceramic Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Her many honors include the NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow Award, the Brunauer and Sosman Awards from the American Ceramic Society, the Langmuir Lecture Award from the American Chemical Society and the Materials Research Society Medal. She is a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society, the American Physical Society, and the Materials Research Society. She is also an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Inventors and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.