Read the latest updates on coronavirus from Harvard University. For SEAS specific-updates, please visit SEAS & FAS Division of Science: Coronavirus FAQs



Frank J. Doyle


Dean Francis J. Doyle III manages new faculty recruitment and faculty relations (authorizes faculty searches; directs and approves promotion reviews; approves special appointments); leads strategic planning for SEAS (vision; financial needs; represents SEAS to other Harvard University deans, as well as the President and Provost); coordinates fundraising and alumni relations; determines and implements educational, research, and administrative goals.

Area Chairs

Area Chairs are a clear single point of responsibility for each academic concentration (existing and proposed) and are responsible for mentoring tenure-track faculty and for the oversight of Area-related searches, reviews, and promotions.

L Mahadevan

Area Chair for Applied Mathematics

Eric Mazur

Area Chair for Applied Physics

Samir Mitragotri

Area Chair for Bioengineering

Eddie Kohler

Area Chair for Computer Science

Todd Zickler

Area Chair for Electrical Engineering

Steven C. Wofsy

Area Chair for Environmental Science and Engineering

Mike Aziz

Michael J. Aziz

Area Chair for Materials Science and Mechanical Engineering


Tim Bowman

Executive Dean for Administration and Finance

Anas Chalah

Assistant Dean for Teaching and Learning

Catherine A. Chute

Assistant Dean for Professional Programs

Fawwaz Habbal

Executive Dean for Education and Research

Paul Karoff

Associate Dean for Communications & Strategic Priorities

Pamela Choi Redfern

Assistant Dean for Space Planning and Design

Diane L. Schneeberger

Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs

James H. Waldo

Chief Technology Officer


  • Francis J. Doyle III, Dean
  • L. Mahadevan, Applied Mathematics
  • Eric Mazur, Applied Physics
  • Samir Mitragotri, Bioengineering
  • Eddie Kohler, Computer Science
  • Todd Zickler, Electrical Engineering
  • Mike Aziz, Materials Science and Mechanical Engineering
  • Tim Bowman, Executive Dean
  • Fawwaz Habbal, Executive Dean
  • Dan Schrag, Environmental Science and Engineering
  • Diane Schneeberger, Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs
  • Paul Karoff, Associate Dean for Communications & Strategic Priorities
  • Alexis Stokes, Assistant Dean for Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging